Skip navigation

We do not accept climate change: Tell Your MP!

Post-bushfires, the Federal government has started to talk about 'adapting' to climate chaos, rather than trying to stop global warming in its tracks. We need to keep them focused on the job of ending fossil fuel pollution!

As a result of the terrible Australian bushfires, the Federal government has been forced to look like it's doing something on the climate crisis, but has so far refused to change its policies and actions.

Instead the Prime Minister has started to talk about adapting to the "new normal" of severe bushfires and drought through "practical action", such as clearing more bush and getting ready for more fires.  

This is deeply worrying - we cannot accept that there is nothing to be done to reverse global warming. Australia needs to cut its emissions, as does every other developed country in the world, and globally we need to drawdown emissions rapidly.


SEND A LETTER TO YOUR MP
 
Here is a letter you can email or mail to your local MP to tell them you want urgent action on cutting our emissions, not adapting to a dangerous "new normal". 

Your letter will be most effective if you:

  • post the letter on paper and even include a photo of your child or a drawing from them. But email is fine too!
  • tell them you are a voter in their electorate - this is important to them!
  • ask for a reply so that the letter has to go through a process of getting responded to. It may get referred to the Minister for Emissions Reduction.

If your local MP is already very progressive on climate action, you may wish to instead (or as well) send the letter to the progressive LNP members who are most likely to push for change within their own party (contact details below). Just remove the first sentence of the letter if you do this!

Here is a template letter you can use, but it's great if you can tweak it to be more personal. Try to include some local climate impacts, if you can.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Dear MP (or Senator),
 
I live in your electorate and want you to take action on my behalf on the most pressing issue of all time - cutting our greenhouse emissions and leading the world on climate action.

With the unprecedented bushfire crisis and drought continuing in Australia, this is the most important issue that you need to work on. 
 
The science is clear – positive feedback loops like bushfires further exacerbate future bushfire condition, risking property, lives, agricultural land and native habitats. We must not continue with business as usual.

We cannot allow this to become Australia's "new normal" and risk a future of even more severe bushfires and drought. This would lead to more loss of human life and ecosystems, severe food shortages and much of Australia becoming unliveable. 

Please do all you can to ensure that the government takes national action to:

  1. Commit Australia to net zero emissions and 100% renewable energy by 2030.
  2. Allow no new fossil fuel projects, including stopping the Adani mine.
  3. Prioritise a smooth and fair transition for all workers and communities impacted by the climate crisis, including fossil fuel communities and Indigenous communities.
  4. Commence a program to rapidly drawdown carbon emissions using natural climate solutions including tree planting, regenerative agriculture, kelp forest regeneration and ‘blue carbon’.

Australia has a hugely important role to play. We are the 16th largest emitter of emissions in the world. If you combine domestic emissions with our fossil fuel exports we are the 5th largest emitter in the world. 
 
We also need to stop obstructing climate action at the global level, and instead start leading and championing a rapid transition to zero emissions at climate negotiations. We need to embrace the opportunity of helping the world develop and take-up the solutions to global warming.
 
Will you act? I look forward to your reply.
 
Yours sincerely,
 
Name, Address, Phone

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Find your local MP's address at this link: https://www.directory.gov.au/commonwealth-parliament/members-house-representatives
You can also write to the Senators for your state - find them here: https://www.directory.gov.au/commonwealth-parliament/senators

 

WRITE TO THE LNP MEMBERS WHO ARE MOST LIKELY TO LISTEN

Progressive LNP members who you can contact are:

Dr Dave Sharma (Wentworth NSW) dave.sharma.mp@aph.gov.au PO Box 545, Edgecliff NSW 2027

Steve Irons (Swan WA) steve.irons.mp@aph.gov.au PO Box 1060, East Victoria Park WA 6981

Fiona Martin (Reid NSW) fiona.martin.mp@aph.gov.au PO Box 2028, Burwood North, NSW, 2134

Katie Allen (Higgins VIC) katie.allen.mp@aph.gov.au 1/1343 Malvern Road Malvern, VIC, 3144

Jason Wood (La Trobe VIC) jason.wood.mp@aph.gov.au PO Box 539, Berwick Vic 3806

Trevor Evans (Brisbane QLD) trevor.evans.mp@aph.gov.au P.O. Box 143 Albion DC, QLD, 4010

Tim Wilson (Goldstein VIC) tim.wilson.mp@aph.gov.au 368 Centre Road Bentleigh, Vic, 3204

Trent Zimmerman (North Sydney NSW) trent.zimmerman.mp@aph.gov.au PO Box 1107 North Sydney, NSW, 2060

Kevin Hogan member for safe seat of Page (NSW) kevin.hogan.mp@aph.gov.au 61-63 Molesworth Street, Lismore NSW 2480

Karen Andrews Member for McPherson Karen.Andrews.MP@aph.gov.au PO Box 409 Varsity Lakes, QLD, 4227

Jason Falinski Member for Mackellar jason.falinski.mp@aph.gov.au Shop 1, 1238-1245, Pittwater Road Narrabeen, NSW, 2101  

Angie Bell Member for Moncrief angie.bell.mp@aph.gov.au PO Box 4922, Gold Coast Mail Centre, Queensland 9726 

Possible retirees – may feel they have little to lose:

Warren Entsch (Leichhardt QLD) warren.entsch.mp@aph.gov.au PO Box 14, Bungalow Queensland 4870

Russell Broadbent (Monash VIC) russell.broadbent.mp@aph.gov.au

 

PHONE SCOTT MORRISON'S OFFICE TOO!

It's also a great idea to phone the Prime Minister's office and tell him you want him to act on cutting our greenhouse emissions and seeking global leadership on the issue. Scott Morrison’s office number is: (02) 6277 7700.

 

Join our Facebook group and let us know how you go - we love to see or hear about any responses you get! Or feel free to email them to us at: ap4ca@outlook.com  

Help increase our impact by sharing here

Australian Parents for Climate Action meet and work on the lands of Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander people and respect that sovereignty of those lands was never ceded. We pay respect to Elders, past and present and emerging, and acknowledge the pivotal role that Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander people continue to play within the Australian community.